ebooks instead of paper?

I’ve started reading books on my iphone. I thought it would be too difficult, too small, hard to comprehend. Even though I love my Kindle, reading on the iphone just didn’t make sense.

Until I read Seth Godin’s book Ideavirus. Vook publishes a number of books, especially with video intros for each chapter. I learned more in the couple of hours of reading on the iphone than I do in reading the long-winded paper books.

Plus Godin’s blog is a daily read!

Godin recently shared his plans on publishing in a Mashable story. After writing 12 books, he doesn’t think the traditional publishing process is “worth the effort,” he revealed in an interview with Mediabistro. Godin, the author of bestsellers such as “Purple Cow” and “The Dip,” has quite a bleak view on the paper book and the way we consume it.

One bit from the interview is particularly revealing.

I like the people, but I can’t abide the long wait, the filters, the big push at launch, the nudging to get people to go to a store they don’t usually visit to buy something they don’t usually buy, to get them to pay for an idea in a form that’s hard to spread… I really don’t think the process is worth the effort that it now takes to make it work. I can reach 10 or 50 times as many people electronically.

And Pete Cashmore of Mashable agrees:

Paper books aren’t a particularly elegant way to spread an idea in the age of blogs, e-readers, and social media.

Do you agree?

Leave a Reply

