Next time someone says “but you can’t”…

How many times in my life have I heard the statement: You can’t do that! You can’t have that! That won’t work! I feel like like I was told: “Stupid, you can’t do that! Stupid, that won’t work!”

A favorite word you might like to learn is Dafka. It can have many meanings, but one of them means strong and stubborn. Also “in spite of.” It is not always a desirable trait, but one worth having especially as an entrepreneur. So when I was told NO! that meant YES to me. Or when I was told THAT WON’T WORK, that meant I WILL FIND A WAY TO MAKE IT WORK!

You may have heard many stories of entrepreneurs who have the Dafka attitude, and despite the criticism, they achieved great things. Seth Godin’s blog this morning was yet another story of Dafka.

In 1919, the then founder of Reader’s Digest, wrote to another small magazine editor asking his opinion about whether he thought the concept behind Reader’s Digest would work. The editor wrote:

Personally, I don’t see how you will be able to get enough subscribers to support it. It is expensive for its size. It isn’t illustrated…I have my doubts about the undertaking as a publishing venture.

Godin says that criticism is common, especially if the status quo don’t like your idea. He ways:

What about the world as it is would have to change for your idea to be important?

In the case of Reader’s Digest, there was change around the type of people reading magazines. They went after people who weren’t reading magazines.

For example: Starbucks. $3.20 latte would not sell to those buying coffee at a truck stop.

Dafka only works when you know HOW to work it!

Leave a Reply

