My Heroes

This post is dedicated to Danny, an undergraduate at UTSA, whose computer/technology business was vandalized.

Danny is like most students at UTSA. He is very busy with life and school. His life outside of school is his business. As part of a major team project in one of his senior classes, he offered to host an event at his business and dedicated the money earned that day to the project, Child’s Play. The event was a success.

But that night, after closing, his business was robbed: computers, terminals, game terminals and players. Thousands of dollars of equipment – gone. The money from that day was hidden, and not taken. In the grief and sorrow Danny was feeling, he still told his team, and professor, that the money earned that day was for the project. Though we told him to use it for his needs, he refused.

Another student overheard this conversation, and posted this message on the class webpage:

Subject: It’s a crazy world with a few awesome people.
Sent: Wednesday, April 6, 2011
Hey everyone,

I hope that he does not mind me saying this. I assume his modesty and humility prevent him from talking about it much, and his nobility allows him to mask whatever anger and frustration he might be feeling.

I was very saddened yesterday when I overheard that Danny’s store was vandalized and some very expensive things were taken. Then I was absolutely blown away when I heard the teacher basically give the group permission to use the money they have raised to try to help him recover some of his losses, and he refused. I don’t know him very well. I think that this is the first semester in which I’ve had Danny for a class, but the little bit that I’ve seen from him has been positive and admirable.

Danny, I hope that you don’t mind me saying this, but it seemed like a fairly easy thing to do to hopefully provide you with some comfort. Next time I see you I’m going to ask you if there is anything that I can do to help you get through this. One thing that I’ve learned from my own experiences is that you actually lose a little bit of faith in humanity when things like this happen, and I want to help to build that back up for you. You’re a good man, and you seem to have handled this far greater than I would have.

-Zachary

Both of these students are my heroes today!

Leave a Reply

