If you don’t know Seth, it’s time!

If you don’t know Seth Godin, now is the time to learn who he is. A marketing guru, a dare-to-dream dreamer, a dare-to-act activist, and entrepreneur, and a great blogger. He has now become by saving grace today, because he has just given me permission, in fact, encouraged me, to waste time.

Now, grant it, he only recently posted the blog post below, while I have been indulging in “wasting time” long before his post. Actually, I feel like I’ve been wasting time since July 15, so that’s about a month (as of today in fact.)

While I’ve been spending my time in wasteland, I’ve been clearing my head of all the garbage I’ve collected over the past 6 months. I’ve been sorting and keeping that stuff, which will be useful to me later; like renewing my exercise schedule, my improved eating habits, and sleeping habits, and oh yes my reading and playing computer games (I;m real good at solitaire, not an Angry Birds fan since they die in front on my on MY screen!)

Each day I would wake and say, “I’m going to be productive today! Yes!” But I end up wasting yet another day.

But after reading Godin’s post last night, I now know I’m ready for all of the excitement, frustration and newness of up and coming entrepreneurs. I’m actually pretty excited to see who is going to move forward on their entrepreneurial plans, who’s going to look at me this semester with that “Oh, I get it now” look in their eyes. And whose going to feel energized by my energized ways, since I spent a month wasting my time getting energized.

But I was just wasting time. Thank you Seth Godin.

(And here’s his post.)

Wasting time is not a waste

In fact, wasting time is a key part of our lives.

Wasting time poorly is a sin, because not only are you forgoing the productivity, generosity and art that comes from work, but you’re also giving up the downtime, experimentation and joy that comes from wasting time.

If you’re going to waste time (and I hope you will) the least you can do is do it well.

Leave a comment